top of page

Autumn Gold


The autumn has arrived and I haven't done a blog for quite sometime so I thought I would put a quick one together. The wet weather has put the kibosh on anymore grass cutting and all the lakes are once again full and overflowing, its important that I keep the outlets clear to prevent overtopping of the banks. The other crucial job at the moment is the electric fence and on at least two occasions recently the fence has been taken down by large trees, one night is one night to many at this time of year. I have continued to feed the top lake Carp twice a week and this is really paying off with the fish packing on the weight and maintaining tip top condition.


AL A Carte Carp food

I have also continued my effort to land the Ghost on the lower lake and on a number of occasions the fish has swam under the rods, I have been pre-baiting a couple of spots I know it hangs out so the net is closing in on this most irksome of fish. I have maintained my sanity by nipping up to the top lake armed with the trusty Breadcrust and landed several nice fish plus one of the recently stocked Mirrors.


Stockie Mirror packing on the weight

Pretty little Common

Nice chunky common caught on margin fished crust

Another stunning Common Carp on bread

The top lake has 60 quality Carp and to get the best from it you really need to stalk the fish watching the reeds shaking then adding a few chunks of bread will soon have them feeding. I am going have a go at the Pike soon seen a few good ones chasing the Tench when I have been playing them, certainly a lot of jacks hitting the Rudd shoals. I always think that Autumn provides some of the best sunsets at the lakes and despite the cold and wet its worth sticking it out to watch mother natures final miracle of the day.



That's about it for now but I will make an effort to get a few more posts done that is providing I have something to write about.





62 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page